Driving sober is one the most recommended safety measures to avoid imprisonment for a first dui conviction. If that probability is ruled out, you need to know the limits of alcohol content allowed for driving in your state. For example the state of Texas allows less than 0.08% of blood alcohol content while driving for adults. So you have to device methods to keep it within the limits. If minors are accompanying you in the vacation, you can avoid alcohol for them or prevent them from driving when drunk. The penalty and imprisonment sentences are more severe for minors in this state.
What Contributes to Imprisonment for a First DUI conviction
- The probability of imprisonment for a first dui conviction increases when your behavior and driving pattern are considered to be offensive and life threatening for others on and off the road. Causing injuries and property damages can act as enhancing factors. Sentence can vary from three days to three months with suspension/cancellation of driving license. For minors the sentence may extend up to 2 years.
- Avoiding DWI checkpoints is not an ideal solution when you are driving under influence. Highway patrol vehicles can easily trace you and stop you anywhere. In some states DUI can result in criminal lawsuit and offense against public safety. The offensive level determines the imprisonment for a first dui conviction. There are various levels of categorization like the Class, A, B, C, 2nd and 3rd degree felony etc. causing grave physical injuries or death can result in 2 to 10 years of imprisonment.
Clauses of Drunk Driving Penalties
The clauses of drunk driving penalties may vary between states. However the standards penalties can range from $2,000 up to $10,000 depending on the nature of offense. Individuals below 21 are considered to be minor. They are totally banned from driving when drunk. The penalty may include fine with probation, community service and loss of driving license.
- Adults may face a suspension of license for 90 days to 2 years, depending on the nature of offense.
- For the first time offense of class B (drunk driving and possession of Marijuana), the penalty can be maximum of $2,000 and license suspension from 90 days to one year. For Class A, the penalty can be maximum of $4,000 and one year license suspension. Repeated offenses can (2 DUI, 3 DUI etc) can result up to $10,000 in penalty and loss of license for 2 years.
Rules of Texas DWI
Texas DWI is said to be one of the toughest against drunken driving. As mentioned earlier, it can be considered as a criminal offense, since you may put others’ safety, life and property in danger.
You may find many advices about how to space your drink, consume lots of water and so many others. But the fact is simple. Once the first drink is taken there is way you could space the others intelligently or take precautions to keep your blood alcohol content below 0.08%! The choice is between driving sober or putting a sober adult on the wheel.